Search on



Anja Kowalski formed her band WOLKE in 2009 and subsequently released a self-produced EP the same year.
In 2015 WOLKE released their first full album in Belgium with NAFF Rekordz and in France with LINOLEUM (June 2016).
Their eponymous album contains 9 original compositions and 4 short improvisations based on those songs.
The sound of the band oscillates between indie-folk/pop and avant garde jazz, appropriating different stylistic elements to create their own sound.
The lyrics (in German and English) and music of WOLKE come out of a certain longing, the “Heimweh”, a feeling similar to the Portuguese “Saudade” or the Blues, immersing you in a world that is both melancholic and luminous, fragile and rough.

“ There is something enchanting in Anja Kowalski's compositions, something that reminds you of Kurt Weill as well as those folk singers with their engaged lyrics... “.
( J. Prouvost in JAZZQUES)

“ This non-linear album doesn't hesitate to bring on some urban sizzle ( Nebelland ), introduce tropical fantasies by way of Tom Zé ( In Erwartung ) or even encourage free jazz dissonance ( Conversation between a woman and a mirror )....”
(P.Cornet /FOCUS-le Vif)

Anja Kowalski - vocals , acoustic guitar
Benjamin Sauzereau - electric guitar
Eric Bribosia - keyboards
Yannick Dupont - drums, laptop

Released on ...

12.00€ Add to cart
01 Dein05' 57"
02 The hideaway05' 38"
03 Der Traum01' 18"
04 Nebelland05' 57"
05 In Erwartung04' 24"
06 Das Karussell der Zeit05' 48"
07 Stumble-be-bleb01' 00"
08 Conversation between a woman and a mirror06' 51"
09 Little box02' 59"
10 Losing her marbles01' 01"
11 Trapped05' 56"
12 Kalypsos Lied04' 36"
13 In deinem Bann01' 28"
Tracklist legend:
  • Video
  • Complete
  • Extract

From the same artist

Similar release group