Search on

Every Day, In Every Way


An original artist in more ways than one, Mein Sohn William, aka Dorian Taburet, has long engaged in the one-man-band distillation of his weird-ass pop songs dipped in the rich tinctures of Eighties’ surrealism. In doing so, he’s performed the job of at least two well-trained musicians. Today, Mein Sohn William is becoming a duet … that manages to sound at least like a quartet. Antoine Bellanger (Belone Quartet, Gratuit), who’d already deployed his magic as an arranger on the first mini-album (released in 2012 under the Ici D’ailleurs label), has become a full-fledged member of a band whose music - a hybrid and original force - escapes any easy attempt at facile genre definition.

So, a first record then, which Dorian has defended with the generosity and good humour he’s been known for, all by his lonesome at first, now with Antoine come to lend him a deft hand, for a whole bunch of gigs. Few are those who have escaped unscathed for those experiences, be they members of the audience or the other bands sharing the stage with them (Breton, Cheveu, GaBLé, Johnatan Richman and Papier Tigre were amongst those). This has been a time during which the band has expanded its universe and grown its repertoire considerably, towards compositions and live performances which outdid the album’s schizophrenic groove, so much so that it was selected as part of the Découverte section of the Printemps de Bourges 2013, then nominated for a gong at Fair 2014.

The solo act turned duet has finally found a window of time to put down its suitcases. Delivering musical gut-punches on stage is one thing; writing an album is quite another... and one in which the lads both excel. Their creative osmosis, already self-evident on stage, is as potent in their work of composing songs, for a result at least as memorable as their eponymous first effort. This time however, the output is a full fifteen numbers, and the critical mass enables Mein Sohn William to introduce finer grain to its music. Try “Follow Your Lead” and “He Tries So Hard” for the pop emphasis, or “Rebecca”, for more refined writing, along with other numbers where structure is more apparent than in the past, without the band relinquishing the crazy edginess that have made them one of the most intimidating live acts around. A little less lo-fi in concept, Every Day, In Every Way is above all a scintillating collection of songs that showcases the band’s superior touch in combining the melodic domain (”Leather”, “Famille”) with outlandish experimental sorties (”Always At The Same Time”, “Avoid”), saturated sounds, outright delirium, but also, here and there, more sombre touches. And all this in just one album. With this new offering, Mein Sohn William confirms that unbridled artistic freedom is a limitless engine of creation. Better still, it proves to the most jaded out there that it is still possible to be original and unpredictable in times when it’s all too easy to assume we’ve heard it all...

Eager for new experiences, Mein Sohn William will also welcome a third good fella on occasional basis, Jérémie (already there in the initial demos), who will add his special touch on some shows and will be a perfect substitute when Antoine will have to enjoy his new parenthood.

Released on ...

17.00€ Add to cart
A1 Leather02' 01"
A2 Until the beginning01' 42"
A3 Follow your lead03' 08"
A4 Rebecca03' 34"
A5 La forêt (interlude)00' 34"
A6 Words03' 04"
A7 Always the same time01' 54"
B1 End world's not today02' 49"
B2 Avoid01' 21"
B3 No longer walk03' 15"
B4 La piscine (interlude)00' 35"
B5 Théorie du complexe03' 17"
B6 Famille02' 33"
B7 Dear husband04' 54"
B8 He tries so hard03' 25"
12.00€ Add to cart
01 Leather02' 01"
02 Until the beginning01' 42"
03 Follow your lead03' 08"
04 Rebecca03' 34"
05 La forêt (interlude)00' 34"
06 Words03' 04"
07 Always the same time01' 54"
08 End world's not today02' 49"
09 Avoid01' 21"
10 No longer walk03' 15"
11 La piscine (interlude)00' 35"
12 Théorie du complexe03' 17"
13 Famille02' 33"
14 Dear husband04' 54"
15 He tries so hard03' 25"
Tracklist legend:
  • Video
  • Complete
  • Extract

From the same artist


Customers who bought this item also bought