Search on
Afin de faire peau neuve, votre site sera en maintenance à partir du 19/12/2018.

Black Rainbow Remixes


In February of 2011 the first full length record by Aucan, "Black Rainbow" was released. Ranging from contemporary dubstep with jarring broken riffs to desolate ambient landscapes, this record immerses listeners in a multifaceted sonic journey. The album is both “dreamy and moving” (The Fact), achieving “a result that approaches the sublime" (Obskure Magazine) and lauded through- out Europe, making the May 2011 cover of New Noise. During the 150 date Black Rainbow tour, Aucan played for thousands in some Europe’s most important clubs. This opportunity allowed them to meet musicians from all over the world with whom they shared both the stage and a particular aptitude for music. Naturally, this gave them the idea of working on a series of remixes and reinterpretations, leading to the creation of a completly new album. Less than a year after the initial release and 150,000 downloads later, Black Rainbow is reborn through collaborations with ten international artists.

Opening with “Storm”, this new version features rapper Will Brooks (Dalek, iconAclass, Deadverse/ Ipecac Recordings) resulting in a hip hop track that reflects upon the current global discord, Aucan's central theme, since their 2010 track "Crisis". For the centerpiece of their live show, “Away!”, the band chose Spex MC, the legendary singer on the Asian Dub Foundation’s Fly Over, for his direct and powerful style. Scorn, Mick Harris of Napalm Death’s seminal project, impresses their trademark big reverbs, sparse facilities and industrial atmospheres onto “Black Rainbow”. Ambassadeurs revisit “Save Yourself” with a soulfulness reminiscent James Blake’s first record. France’s Niveau Zero massages AdNoiseam style wobbles and distortions into “SPL”, preserving the original mood and shouted vocals. Berliner Robot Koch drops his Teutonic dance version of “Red Minoga”, while Broken Haze of Japan remix “Heartless” with glitch-step synth melodies. Detroit’s Shigeto creates an intimate new percussive piece with the manipulated and delicately contorted vocals of Angela Kinczly. And producer Cécile of Esperanza, authors a lush and cinematic version of “Embarque” by blending piano loops and smooth bass lines.

Black Rainbow Remixes will be released by the historic electro dub label Jarring Effects and by La Tempesta in April. At the same time, a double vinyl version of the album will be released on Tannen Records. AUCANIZE, the band’s own label founded for this release, will handle digital distribution.

Released on ...

Out of stock
01 Aucan, Mc Dalek - Storm04' 13"
02 Aucan, Spex Mc - Away!03' 57"
03 Aucan, Niveau Zero - SPL03' 27"
04 Aucan, Ambassadeurs - Save Yourself03' 48"
05 Underwater Music03' 48"
06 Aucan, Broken Haze - Heartless03' 10"
07 Aucan, Cécile - Embarque03' 22"offered
08 Aucan, Robot Koch - Red Minoga03' 57"
09 Aucan, Skyrider - In a Land04' 02"
10 Aucan, Scorn - Black Rainbow05' 20"
11 Aucan, Shigeto - Blurred04' 43"
Tracklist legend:
  • Video
  • Complete
  • Extract