Search on

Attraction Terrestre


Through her atypical experiences, the singer Emilie Lesbros blurs the boundaries between
improvisation, experimental jazz and contemporary music. Her training, between classical
education – she studied classical singing and jazz at the conservatory – and eclectic musical
projects in various formations ranging from rock to electronic music, leads her to develop
an insatiable curiosity regarding sound. Her encounter with the bassist Barre Phillips is crucial and results in her fully exploring the field of improvised music. Emilie Lesbros expands her vocal and corporal investigations by working with theater, contemporary dance and contemporary circus companies. These many collective experiences enabled her to refine her own choices and to explore on-stage performance, thereby allowing her to forge a singular presence before the public.

After passing through many byways, Emilie Lesbros decided to concentrate on solo expressions, occasionally accompanying herself at the piano, the bass or the violin. These solos, which go beyond simple sound performances, blend finely melodic compositions with moments of pure improvisation. Her music exudes strong theatrical and poetic elements in unstable equilibrium between humor and seriousness. Like an intimate and zany self-portrait…
Her first solo album, “Attraction terrestre,” will be released on May 23, 2011 by DFragment Music.

« 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 + 0, 5 + 1, 2, 3 another measure at 7, uh, no, sorry, it’s at 6 and a half… on a great Locrian mode, certainly followed by a atonal chord, then you play the whole tone scale… but not too much of course.” I heard that so often inside my head: counting, playing, counting, playing, counting, singing. Then one day, the word “simple” just came to mind. Simplicity, put what’s inside me on the outside, don’t count so much anymore, don’t think anymore, let go.» Emilie Lesbros

Released on ...

12.00€ Add to cart
01 Dla ciebe02' 46"
02 Brushing your hair05' 02"
03 Clapotains02' 06"
04 In'citation'04' 23"
05 Berce mozart05' 33"
06 Emptiness02' 41"
07 Attraction terrestre04' 11"
08 Stop singing02' 56"
09 Dormez vous02' 50"
10 Time flies04' 45"
11 197903' 03"
12 Des avions sur nos têtes03' 36"
Tracklist legend:
  • Video
  • Complete
  • Extract

Customers who bought this item also bought